A man in California was recently picked up on allegations that he was driving under the influence. The case gets even more complicated, though, as he was then accused of having started a fight at a gas station prior to his arrest.
There is a bill out there proposing that the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit in California should be lowered from the .08 percent that all states use to .05 percent. That would make it the strictest law in the country and would likely lead to a lot more DUI arrests.
As of Jan. 1, Californians who are convicted of drunk driving have a greater chance of being required to get an ignition interlock device (IID) installed in their car(s) if they want to drive again in the near future. The new law expands a pilot program that's been in place since 2010 in four counties: Alameda, Sacramento, Los Angeles and Tulare.
You think you're fine to drive and you walk to your car, which is parked down the street. When you sit down in the front seat, though, you realize that you're definitely impaired. Not wanting to get a DUI or get into an accident, you put the seat back and go to sleep.
You go out to a birthday party for one of your friends. You know that you have consumed too many drinks to drive, so you take a cab home that night. It's late and you have work the next morning, so you set your alarm. When it goes off, you quickly get up, jump in your own car and head to the office.
When you get behind the wheel of your car, van or SUV, you are taking your life and the lives of countless others into your hands. You become responsible for any accident you cause. It becomes an even more bothersome situation if you drive while under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs in California. Let's review the penalties the state has in place for DUI in today's post.
When you see the red and blue lights behind you in San Jose, your thoughts start immediately racing. What did I do wrong? Was I speeding? Is my registration expired? These are all valid thoughts. However, what if you are being pulled over for suspicion of driving under the influence? Let's take a look at the tests used in the field to determine sobriety.
Driving under the influence in San Jose is a serious offense that can cause a lot of issues in your life. Even if this is your first DUI conviction, you can still be faced with a ton of consequences that can change how you operate on a daily basis. Here are the consequences you might face with a DUI conviction in San Jose.
You've likely seen them before: the drunk driving checkpoints set up by law enforcement officials throughout San Jose and the rest of California. These checkpoints are designed to find drunk drivers and impaired drivers by forcing them to speak with officers. Let's take a look at the DUI checkpoint and what you can expect if you are ever stuck in one after a night out on the town.
If you are facing charges of driving under the influence (DUI) in California and this is not your first offense, you might be issued an ignition interlock device. What is an ignition interlock device? Simply put, this is a device that is put into your vehicle and prevents it from starting if you have been drinking. This device works like a Breathalyzer test.