When you get behind the wheel of your car, van or SUV, you are taking your life and the lives of countless others into your hands. You become responsible for any accident you cause. It becomes an even more bothersome situation if you drive while under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs in California. Let’s review the penalties the state has in place for DUI in today’s post.
If you are charged with DUI for the first time in California, you will be subjected to the following penalties:
- Driver’s license suspended immediately for four months
- No more than $1,000 in fines
- No more than six months in jail
- License reissue fee of $125
- Ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle
- Enrollment and required completion of a DUI program
If you are facing your second or subsequent charge for DUI in California you will face much harsher penalties. For example, if the new charge comes within 10 years of your last charge, you will find that your license is suspended for at least one year. Penalties stemming from a second or subsequent DUI are based on the number of times you’ve been charged with such a crime.
Do you hold a commercial driver’s license? If so, being charged with your first DUI will result in license revocation for one year. A second charge will result in you permanently losing your CDL.
DUI is a serious crime in California. First-time offenders and those with subsequent charges should do everything in their power to mount a strong defense to DUI charges. You don’t want to admit to DUI when there’s a chance you can fight the charges.